Last Thoughts of 2016

We have 3 days left in the year, as I’m writing this. There’s a lot that’s going to happen come 2017, and I’ve always tried my best to look at the bright side of life. I’m admittedly having trouble maintaining that point of view.

I already expressed my grievances about this 2016 election cycle with my last post, and have done three(?) posts on the election and our final pick of the draw, and we’ve got the shortest stick of the lot. This post is to air my grievances of 2016 as we finally make our next trip around the sun.

Keep in mind that this list has multiple events both good and bad with respect to order of time. These will be both personal accomplishments and events that took place that made me happy.

Anti-toxicity, pests removed
After a year of trying to get them to go away, I finally cut ties with my most toxic ‘friends.’ All filled with empty promises, lies and deception. Now my only hope is that they’ll stay away for good.

Graduation
Yes, I graduated from high school. I admittedly didn’t want to celebrate it, but that’s just my nature about not liking to celebrate my own achievements. Any event that I do celebrate over feels anti-climactic and forced, which is why I prefer just to hole up in my room and play video games. But that’s neither here nor there.

First actual job
I actually held a total of three jobs over the course of the year, and am holding down a fourth one at the moment. I was happy with my first job, and I’m somewhat happy with my second job. I hope I can make a career out of it, and publish on the side.

Formed the Trispherian Timeline
In my own works of writing, I have finally finished the timeline of the series. However, I have only finished one story’s draft so far and I have yet to finish any others. In my experience, it’s like assembling pieces of your own puzzle as you create them.

Though now, I’ll air my grievances…

2016 Election
It felt too long and drawn out. We ought to limit the time it takes for these kinds of things.

The rise of fake news and propaganda
I thought we were over these days. Can we please be neutral as a country again?
I will say that one good thing came out of it. I’ve learned a lot about fact-checking stories, and have joined the Snopes Facebook group run by site admin David Mikkelson. I personally love it.

My computer ‘blew up’
No, not literally. It happened early this year, the hard drive (OF ALL THINGS) failed on me, and I had to scrap it. I did salvage some pieces, and I’ll be happy to sell them to folks.

I’ve become more of a recluse
No, I’m not a spider. That might be fun though, especially to scare people with. But after graduating high school, my reclusive nature has taken precedence over my sociability and I choose to stay out of things more than I do participate. I’m not a social person, and there’s nobody to push me into things anymore.

-sighs- Yep, I’m talking about this.
Due to an… incident on Christmas day, my girlfriend of 9 months and I agreed that maintaining a long-distance relationship was a little too difficult, and we should stand by for each other as friends. I will not defame her, this was a mutual decision for us both. I only wish her the best.
And no, I’m still not telling you who it was. As hidden in plain sight as we were.

And, that’s really about it. This year wasn’t that significant for me otherwise, and I don’t see much else that’s worth it to talk about. I didn’t like it that much.

Thanks for the read, I hope you got something out of it.

Leave a Reply

